Brendon Urie

Brendon Boyd Urie (born April 12, 1987) is an American musician and the lead vocalist, rhythm guitarist, pianist and singer-songwriter ofPanic! at the Disco. He also plays drums, bass guitar, accordion, organ, cello, violin, and trumpet. During high school, Urie worked at Tropical Smoothie Cafe in order to pay the band’s rent for their practice space, and, while there, often sang for customers. “I would sing anything I was listening to at the time, but I was down to take requests. I remember singing some Scorpions songs, some W.A.S.P. 80s anthems are usually good for tips. It was a huge range of stuff,” he recalled in 2011. “I’m glad they let me sing, and they didn’t fire me because I would sing everywhere – while I was doing dishes, I would sing while I was making the smoothies. I was ‘that guy.’ Some people liked it, and some people didn’t. I had to respect other people’s wishes, but I had a couple people come in who would ask me to sing for a tip. That’s always fun.” His musical career began when he met Brent Wilson during guitar classes which they shared in high school. Consequently, Wilson asked Urie to try out as lead guitarist for Panic! at the Disco, as they were looking for a replacement at the time. Originally, Urie was not the band’s lead singer; the position had belonged to Ryan Ross. However, when the band heard him sing backup during a rehearsal when Ross was unable to sing, they were impressed with his vocal abilities and unanimously decided to make him the singer. Since then, Panic! at the Disco has released 3 studio albums with Urie as lead vocalist. A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out was released in 2005 and their sophomore record, Pretty. Odd. in 2008. On Pretty. Odd., Urie also took lyrical responsibility and wrote two of the tracks on the record by himself; those tracks being “I Have Friends in Holy Spaces” and festival favorite “Folkin’ Around”. He also wrote “New Perspective” for the soundtrack to the motion picture Jennifer’s Body. In February 1, 2011, another single was released: “The Ballad of Mona Lisa” which soon reached iTunes #1 spot in the Alternative Music Category. After the song’s Music Video was released, it also reached the #1 spot, this time in Alternative Music Videos.  

Leave a comment